Aklan reports accomplishments in TB case detection, treatment rates

Province of Aklan
Province of Aklan

The Provincial Health Office (PHO) recently released the province’s 2015 accomplishments in Case Detection Rates and Treatment Success Rates in the implementation of the National Tuberculosis Program (NTP).

The report bared that out of Aklan’s 17 towns, 11 surpassed the annual 90 percent target in case detection rate for tuberculosis.

These towns include Nabas, Altavas, Madalag, Kalibo, Ibajay, Buruanga, Makato, Lezo, Malinao, Malay and Libacao.

The same report revealed that the towns of Balete, Banga, Batan, New Washington, Numancia and Tangalan had case detection rates lower than 90 percent.

In the report too, it showed that 13 towns exceeded the set 90 percent target for the 2015 treatment success rate for tuberculosis – Nabas, Buruanga, Lezo, Madalag, Makato, Altavas, Batan, Tangalan, Balete, Libacao, Numancia, Banga and Malinao.

Four towns however also emerged to have treatment success rates lower than 90 percent, and these are the towns of Ibajay, Kalibo, Malay and New Washington.

Two of these towns – Kalibo and New Washington are in the eastern side of Aklan while two others – Ibajay and Malay are in the western side.  These towns are all heavily populated.

The reports were presented during the recent Aklan TB Council meeting initiated by the PHO.

In the same meeting, Gil N. Menez, Programmatic Management of Drug Resistant TB (PMDT) nurse based at the Satellite Treatment Center of the Dr. Rafael S. Tumbokon Memorial Hospital (DRSTMH) presented updates on the operations of the center as well as the status of clients availing services.

Menez said in his report that 415 patients were screened at the center in 2015, with 33 of them confirmed to be Refamficin Resistant (RR)-TB patients.

As of 2015, 26 patients were enrolled at the DRSTMA Satellite Treatment Center (STC).

Meanwhile, based on the 2016 Census, there are 12 RR-TB patients identified through GenExpert (GX); 10 patients are enrolled in 2016 as of this period with 7 of these STC-based patients and 3 iDOTS enrolled patients, or those availing treatment right at the Rural Health Units (RHUs) in the province.

Aklan presently has a total of 23 Directly Observed Treatment Short Course (DOTS) facilities composed of 19 RHUs, and 4 public and private hospitals.

The DRSTMH-STC was established July 2015 through the Department of Health (DOH) and the Provincial Government of Aklan aimed at treating Multi-Drug TB resistant-patients right in the province so they will no longer need to go to Capiz to avail said treatment. PIA-6