Azkals gears up for the challenge cup

CLEAR Dream Match III. Photo by Mary Pauline Balmes
Phil and James Younghusband actively answer questions from the press on their preparation for their Clear Dream Match III as well as their preparations for the challenge cup.

Azkal football princes Phil and James Younghusband targets victory on their upcoming friendly games these coming weeks as groundwork for the Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Challenge Cup.

“We are looking forward to the games. The goal is to win a challenge cup. We have friendly games to make sure that we are best prepared,” James said during their visit in Iloilo for a promotion of the installation of his dream match with her brother.

The football national team is set for a three friendly matches this month with Nepal and Al Ahli on April 11 and April 14 in Doha respectively.

On april 27, they are scheduled to meet Malaysia on a home game after the Philippine Football Federation has decided to move game in Cebu City because the Rizal Memorial Stadium construction was not yet finished.

Meanwhile, the Younghusbands are all praises for their new coach – Thomas Dooley- who replaced former coach Michael Weiss few months ago.

“He’s great. The freshness he’s given has added more competence to the team,” said Phil.

James said they are still trying to adapt to the system of play that is being  implemented by their new coach.

However, the two brothers still acknowledged the knowledge, skills, and the positive influences that the former coach has shared with them.

“We have so much respect on him,” said James.

The Younghusbands were her in Iloilo to promote the third leg of their Dream Match on June 2014 at a venue to be announced.

Football enthusiasts in the country were gathered together to play for both teams. Players were selected from try-outs held in Iloilo, Cebu, Davao and Manila.

A well-deserved selection of eight Iloilo football aficionados will go to next round of competition at the CLEAR Manchester United Football Camp on April 25-27, 2014.

They are Alvin Eranaya, Andrew Supena, Frenzel Laroza, Gabriel Daniel Alcantara, Harunori Aoki, Joshua Supena, Lester John Sendenillo, and Lord Irvin Jimen.IMT