Iloilo City Hosts International Taekwondo Tilt

 2015 Asia-Pacific Taekwondo Invitational Championships. Photo from Iloilo City Government's Facebook page
2015 Asia-Pacific Taekwondo Invitational Championships. Photo from Iloilo City Government’s Facebook page

The Iloilo City Government is hosting the Philippines’ staging of the 2015 Asia-Pacific Taekwondo Invitational Championships on Feb. 28-March 1 at SM City mall.

“Iloilo City marks a milestone in the Philippine sports history by being the first local government unit to host an international Taekwondo tournament in the country, outside Metro Manila,” stressed Mayor Jed Patrick E. Mabilog.

He said the global event boosts the city’s growing reputation as ideal sports tourism destination.

Vying for honors in the two-day event are seven participating countries including Philippines, Korea, United States of America, Guam, Japan, Mongolia, and Vietnam.

Mabilog and Philippine Taekwondo Association (PTA) Secretary General Monsour del Rosario signed a memorandum of agreement in cooperation with Philippine Sports Commission for the successful hosting of the sports spectacle in the metropolis.

“I would like to thank you Mayor Mabilog for initiating this event. I am happy that the mayor made sports a priority program of the city,” said del Rosario.

The staging of the prestigious event is sanctioned by the World Taekwondo Federation.

“The event is a good opportunity for our athletes to display their skills and widen their experience. It also provides the Philippines the chance to help promote friendship and camaraderie within the taekwondo family,” said PTA OIC Hong Sung Chon.

The competition is supported by SMART, SM and Milo.

Carrying the Philippine colors are:

Male—Francis Aaron Agojo, Keith Benjamin Sembrano, Christian Al Dela Cruz, Lorenz Chavez, Jenar Torillos, Samuel Thomas Harper Morisson, Eddtone Bob Lumasac, Kristopher Robert Uy, Paul Romero, Enrique Edgardo Mora IV and Wasber Rasad.

Female—Irene Therese Bermejo, Levita Ronna Ilao, Darlene Mae Arpon, Camille Bonje, Kirstie Elaine Alora, Mary Ankelay Pelaez, Pauline Louise Lopez, Clouie Bolinas and Gabrielle Antoinette Yuchingtat.

The officials are Manuel Monsour Del Rosario III, head of team; Tem Igor Mella, head of team; Roberto Cruz, Ko Jun Ho, John Paul Lizardo, Dindo Simpao, coaches; Roland Campos, Jesus Morales III, Ricardo Santiago Jr., Mario Frigillana, Jaime Robianes, Jose Florante Santiago and Pauline Gina Guillermo.

February 28 – March 1, 2015
SM Iloilo, Iloilo City
February 25 16:15-17:20 Arrival of Guam, Korea & Rocky (TD) Iloilo Airport
February 26 (Thursday) Wholeday Team Arrivals Iloilo Airport
Wholeday Hotel Check-in Sarabia Hotel
10:00 – 18:00 Iloilo  Local Taekwondo Competition SM City – Iloilo
February 27 (Friday) 6:00 TV Guesting at ABS CBN (Selected Athletes) ABS CBN – Lapaz
6:30-7:00 Official Group Picture Iloilo Espanade
11:00 Courtesy Call – Office of the City Mayor Iloilo City Hall
Presscon Iloilo City Hall
12:00 – 16:00 Team Practice SM City – Iloilo
14:00 Head Team Meeting Sarabia Hotel
16:00-17:00 Weigh-in Sarabia Hotel
18:30-20:30 Welcome Dinner (Hosted by City) Sarabia (Kalantiao)
February 28 (Saturday) (1st day) 10:00-12:00 Preliminary matches for: SM City – Iloilo
Men’s -58 kg & -68kg
Women’s -49kg & -57kg
12:00-14:00 Lunch Break Sarabia Hotel
14:00-17:00 Semi-final and Final for: SM City – Iloilo
Men’s -58 kg & -68kg.
Women’s -49kg & -57kg.
Weigh-in for: SM City – Iloilo
Men’s -80kg and +80kg
Women’s -67kg and +67kg
17:00-18:00 Awarding Ceremony (Medals) SM City – Iloilo
March 01 (Sunday) (2nd day) 10:00-12:00 Preliminary SM City – Iloilo
Men’s -80kg & +80kg
Women’s -67kg & +67kg
12:00-14:00 Lunch Break Sarabia Hotel
Semifinal & Final for: SM City – Iloilo
14:00-17:00 Men’s -80kg & +80kg
Women’s -67kg & +67kg
17:00-18:00 Awarding Ceremony SM City – Iloilo
19:00-20:00 Farewell Dinner & Awarding of Trophies Sarabia (Boracay Ballroom)
(Host: by Miss International Bea Rose Santiago)
March 02 Wholeday Departure of Participants Iloilo Airport

This is a PRESS RELEASE from the Public Information Office of Iloilo City