Treńas proclaimed as mayor of Iloilo City

Congressman Jerry P. Treńas is back as mayor of Iloilo City.

He was proclaimed mayor at 2:47 a.m. on Tuesday, May 14.

Based on the final and official results presented by the Commission on Elections (Comelec), Treńas earned a total of 134, 143 votes.

The figure was more than twice higher than his opponent’s votes. Treńas’ brother-in-law, incumbent Mayor Jose Espinosa III, garnered only 65, 724 votes.

Pacita Gonzalez  occupied the third spot with 11, 934 votes. She’s followed by Mel Carrion (1,414 votes) and Steve Abitang (Steve Abitang).

Treńas, in his Facebook post, said: “And now, I can finally say, as the mayor of Iloilo City, I am now ready to bring Iloilo City to the next level! And I hope you will all still be with me in this journey.”

He thanked all those who supported his mayoral bid.

“I cannot contain the happiness I feel right now knowing that the people of Iloilo City did not leave me alone in this journey. In fact, naghugpong guid ang bilog nga Ilonggo community para mag-upod sa akon. Kag subong, grabe guid ang akon kalipay nga nag-abot na ang tion nga aton ginhulat,” he said.

“Our victory is not just the victory of Team USWAG, but victory of the Ilonggos! Ang tanan nga ini, indi guid matuman if not for your help and unwavering support, kag tanan man ini para guid sa inyo tana. I am humbled with all the love and support nga inyo ginahatag, and I don’t know how to thank you all enough,” he further said.

Before he was elected as congressman in 2010, Treñas served as mayor of the city for three terms (2001-2004, 2004-2007, 2007-2010).

In the vice mayoral race, Jeffrey Ganzon emerged victorious with 119, 112 votes.

Ganzon’s closest rival, Plaridel Nava, got 61, 973 votes. Boots Gerochi came in third with 22, 774 votes and Toto Boy Caro landed on the 4th spot with 951 votes.

Also proclaimed winners were the following:


1.Love Baronda – 131, 226

2. Armand Parcon – 105, 912

3. Roding Ganzon – 102, 201

4. Jay Treñas – 99, 656

5.Candice Magdalane Tupas – 99, 656

6. Ely Estante – 89, 755

7. Rommel Duron – 82, 560

8. Alan Zaldivar – 80, 531

9. Jojo Javellana – 77, 048

10. Lyndon Acap – 74, 065

11. Mandrei Malabor – 69, 987

12. Eduardo Peñaredondo – 67, 914



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here