Women’s Basketball tournament kicks off

IBL women’s basketball tournament standing

The Women’s Basketball Tournament kicked off recently at Mandurriao covered court.

Seven teams from West Visayas State University (WVSU), PEI, University of Agustine (USA), Iloilo National High School, Iloilo Science and Technology University (ISAT-U) as well as two others teams namely, Avengers, and Textus will battle it out for the championship title.

In the first game, USA waylaid INHS, 69-27.

In the second game, ISAT-U defeated the Avengers team, 48-38.

The third game between WVSU and PEI became exciting as both teams showed burning actions inside the court.

PEI scored 44, five points higher than WVST with 39 total score.

PEI maintained its lead from the first until the end of the game, 12-9, 21-26, 35-28, respectively.

The Women’s Basketball Tournament is organized by Iloilo Basketball League (IBL) headed by Mr. Alfie Lagman.

It aims to discover and develop potential Ilonggo Basketball players.

The Women’s basketball began in the winter of 1892 at Smith College. It was organized by Senda Berenson at Smith College, adapting Naismith’s rules to emphasize cooperation, with three zones and six players on each team. The first women’s college basketball game played at Smith College; no men were admitted to the game, March 21, 1893.Womenhistory.com/IMT